Gallery Openings and Events

artdc Gallery Presents Welcome to Wonderland: Rethinking Landscape

Peak to Peak Mica by Pam Rogers. Photo courtesy of artdc Gallery.

Peak to Peak Mica by Pam Rogers. Photo courtesy of artdc Gallery.

.

Opening Reception: Wednesday, July 2 from 7pm to 9pm

.

Welcome to Wonderland: Rethinking Landscape is a juried exhibition, by curator Kayleigh Bryant-Greenwell, and guest juror Hilary-Morgan Watt, that explores abstract ideas about landscape and place. The practice of depicting landscape is as old as the history of art itself. Today’s artists working in abstraction and conceptual art continue to explore the relationship between art and landscape, vantage points, and distance, but with added complexities such as the meaning of exact GPS locale, urban design vs. natural scenery, and place within the vastness of the solar system.

The artists of Welcome to Wonderland explore life as much as they do landscape and abstraction in various 2D and 3D works. The exhibition showcases abstraction, and abstract thought processes, in imaginary and impossible spatial relationships, nontraditional conceptual notions of home and place, and unconventional objects that tell the story of landscape and place.

Artists:

Chuck Rounds: www.chuckrounds.com
David Terrar: www.davidterrar.artspan.com
Denise Philipbar: www.denisephilipbar.com
Elaine Cafritz: www.elainecafritz.com
Frances Borchardt: www.borchardtphotography.blogspot.com
Helen Louise C. Pettis
Julie Maynard: www.juliemaynard.com
Lauren Joseph
Laurence Chandler: www.laurencechandlerfineart.com
Pam Rogers: www.pamrogersart.com
Robert Long
Shelley Marie
Tom Block: www.tomblock.com
Travis Childers: www.travischilders.com

artdc Gallery is located at 5710 Baltimore Ave., Hyattsville, MD. 

.

.

.

.