2019 ARTSFAIRFAX Arts Awards Honorees Announced

By Editorial Team on September 23, 2019

ARTSFAIRFAX announces the presentation of the 2019 Emerging Arts Award to NextStop Theatre, the Arts Achievement Award to Foon Sham and the Arts Philanthropy Award to Stephen Roberts.  Honorees will join 2019 Jinx Hazel Award honorees, Fairfax County Board of Supervisor Chairman Sharon Bulova and Shashi and Margaret Gupta at the 2019 Arts Awards on Friday, October 18 at the Fairview Park Marriott Hotel from 12 -2 p.m.

Each year ARTSFAIRFAX celebrates the arts with the Arts Awards, recognizing individuals and arts organizations who have made significant contributions to the arts in Fairfax County.

“The 2019 Arts Awardees have made unique contributions to the arts,” said Linda Sullivan, President & CEO of ARTSFAIRFAX. “From a home for the arts, to spectacular sculpture, theatre, arts education for the very young, and a dedicated fund for the arts, these awardees are enriching lives and communities throughout Fairfax County and the region.”

NextStop Theatre’s production of “Godspell.” Photo Credit: Lock and Company

NextStop Theatre Company – Emerging Arts Award

The Emerging Arts Award recognizes a new or young arts organization that has presented quality arts programming and engaged a broad or specific sector of the general community in the arts. NextStop Theatre was named Emerging Arts Award honoree for their high caliber productions and for a commitment to fostering a love and dedication to the arts through educational programming.

NextStop’s early beginnings started over 30 years ago as the Elden Street Players, a volunteer organization, before transitioning into one of the fastest-growing professional theatre companies in the Washington metro area. NextStop, led by Producing Artist Director Evan Hoffman, strives to present diversified programming that engages individuals of all ages and all walks of life.

NextStop is currently presenting “BEEHIVE” now through September 22.

Image: “Escape” at American University Courtesy of Foon Sham

Foon Sham – Arts Achievement Award

The ARTSFAIRFAX Arts Achievement Award recognizes the outstanding career achievements of artists, who have produced unique, creative, and innovative concepts. Internationally recognized Foon Sham is an artist whose creations are making a lasting contribution to his field.

Sham’s inspiring sculptures tell a story and inspire the viewer to experience the sculpture through their lens of experiences. Sham works to create a juncture between life and art to make conversations happen.  Sham has presented over 36 solo exhibitions and more than 100 group exhibitions, and he is a professor of Art at the University of Maryland.

Sham’s current exhibit is part of the Smithsonian Gardens first museum-wide exhibition, “Habitat,” on display through December 2020.

Image: Courtesy of Stephen Roberts and Dr. Sue Goetz Ross

Stephen Roberts – Arts Philanthropy Award

The ARTSFAIRFAX Arts Philanthropy Award acknowledges private sector support of the arts by honoring an individual, corporation or foundation that has provided leadership funding or long-term monetary support to an arts organization or arts program. Roberts is being recognized for his ground-breaking vision to create a fund to support the arts in our community.

The Ross-Roberts Fund, established at the Community Foundation for Northern Virginia, will foster the development and growth of the arts in our region through grants.  The fund, named after Roberts and his late wife, Dr. Sue Goetz Ross, was launched to honor her commitment and enjoyment of the arts.  Roberts hopes the new fund will foster the arts and grow arts programming into the future.

Image: Courtesy of Tim Sargeant

Master of Ceremonies, Tim Sargeant

Tim Sargeant, External Affairs Manager in Dominion Energy’s Norther Virginia office, will serve as Master of Ceremonies.  Sargeant has served the Fairfax County for over 20 years, providing community leadership and public service.  Since 2007, Sargeant has served as an At-Large appointee to the Fairfax County Planning Commission, which provides the Board of Supervisors with recommendations on land use applications and policies. He also serves as a gubernatorial appointee to the Board of Visitors of Gunston Hall, the National Historic Landmark on Mason Neck, and the home of George Mason.

In addition to his current role as Vice Chair of the ARTSFAIRFAX Board of Directors, Sargeant has served in numerous leadership roles in the region, including the Northern Virginia Community College Education Foundation, Leadership Fairfax and the Boards of area Chambers of Commerce.

2019 Arts Awards Sponsors

The Arts Awards are presented by Event Sponsor, Reston Community Center; Art Award Sponsor, Federal Reality; Art Community Sponsors, Dominion Energy, Leidos, Reston Town Center, Sandy Spring Bank, and Springfield Town Center.  Information regarding sponsorship may be found at https://artsfairfax.org/arts-awards-sponsorship-opportunities/.

About the Arts Awards

ARTSFAIRFAX eighth annual Arts Awards recognizes the visionary contributions that the arts bring to Fairfax County and the Cities of Fairfax and Falls Church. The Arts Awards bring together the arts community, business community, and civic and elected leaders to celebrate the extraordinary contributions of artists, arts organizations, and the private sector for their support of the arts in our community.

Jinx Hazel Award recipients, Fairfax County Board of Supervisor Chairman Sharon Bulova and Shashi and Margaret Gupta, will be honored for their impact on the arts and quality of life in Fairfax County.

To learn more about the Arts Awards, visit artsfairfax.org.

Tables and individual tickets to the Arts Awards may be purchased directly at https://bit.ly/2NAu16r or by contacting artsawards@artsfairfax.org or by contacting Brenda MacRoberts at 571-395-4619.


ARTSFAIRFAX is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit charitable organization, incorporated in 1964, as Fairfax County’s designated local arts agency.  ARTSFAIRFAX is funded in part by Fairfax County, corporations, foundations, individuals, the Virginia Commission for the Arts and the National Endowment for the Arts.