2022 Venice Biennale Showcases DMV Artists

By Editorial Team on July 12, 2022
“There’s a Big Hole in the Sky”; Tim Tate, Michael Janis, Chris Shea at the 2022 Venice Biennale Glasstress.

The Venice Biennale is an international art exhibition featuring architecture, visual arts, cinema, dance, music, and theatre that is held in Venice, Italy every two years during the summer. This year’s Venice Biennale includes a collateral event–Glasstress–held at the historic Berengo Studios, Italy. Scheduled from June 2 to November 27, 2022, brings together a group of important contemporary artists from Europe, the United States, Latin America, Africa and China in an ambitious exhibition that explores the infinite creative possibilities of glass.

“There’s a Big Hole in the Sky”; cast glass, glass powder imagery, steel, copper. Chris Shea’s incredible metal work frames out Tim Tate’s lush fields of cast glass elements (detailed figures, flowers, insects) and in center, a glass sgraffito panel by Michael Janis.

The Seventh Edition of Glasstress features a large mixed media sculpture that is a collaboration between DMV glass artists Tim Tate and Michael Janis with metal sculptor Chris Shea, representing the USA. The works are housed in the Berengo Foundation Art Space in Murano, an old, abandoned furnace transformed a few years ago into an evocative exhibition space. On display are works by artists who have already collaborated and exhibited at GLASSTRESS with Berengo Studio, such as Ai Weiwei, Jimmie Durham, Tony Cragg, Monira Al Qadiri, Thomas Schütte, Vanessa Beecroft, María Magdalena Campos-Pons, Tim Tate, Paloma Varga Weisz and eL Seed, among others.

Italian Press covers opening of Glasstress.

Said artist Tim Tate: “The honor of working with Berengo Studio and to be part of a show with such renown world artists and to show a piece this scale – dealing with a subject matter in the very place that is dealing with climate change effects such as rising water levels is an honor very few enjoy.”

Detail of center inset panel in There’s a Big Hole in the Sky

A central concern in There’s a Big Hole in The Sky is that viewers need to abandon their apathy towards climate change. This monumental sculpture brings to light the effects of global warming on the earth as most areas will be facing frequent flooding. Despite the growing evidence of climate change, and humanity as the driver of that change, there remains a hardcore 20 percent or so that reject the whole notion of it and a healthy percentage that remain unconvinced that humans are causing it. And on top of those dismal statistics, many believe that climate change does not represent a threat to them. The artwork is an invitation to understand, to act, and to prepare. But if political solutions to climate change don’t materialize soon, it may also be an invitation to come to terms with loss.

GLASSTRESS 2022 | 2 June – 27 November 2022 | Berengo Art Space, Murano, Veneto, Italy

Opening of Glasstress at Berengo Studio in Murano, Italy


New Artists include: Vanessa Beecroft (Italy), María Magdalena Campos-Pons (Cuba), Judy Chicago (United States), Chiara Dynys (Italy), eL Seed (France), Leandro Erlich (Argentina), Ryan Gander (Great Britain), Michael Janis (United States), Alexander Evgenievich Ponomarev (Russia), Laurent Reypens (Belgium), Liam Scully (Great Britain), Chris Shea (United States), Paloma Varga Weisz (Germany), Osman Yousefzada (Great Britain).

Returning Artists Include: Ai Weiwei (China), Monira Al Qadiri (Kuwait), Ayman Baalbaki (Lebanon), Tony Cragg (Great Britain), Jimmie Durham (United States), Jan Fabre (Belgium), Josepha Gasch-Muche (Germany), Kendell Geers ( South Africa), Marya Kazoun (Lebanon / Canada), Brigitte Kowanz (Austria), Karen LaMonte (United States), Tomáš Libertiny (Slovak Republic), Massimo Lunardon (Italy), Federica Marangoni (Italy), Prune Nourry (France), Anne Peabody (United States), Jaume Plensa (Spain), Laure Prouvost (France), Thomas Schütte (Germany), Sean Scully (United States), Wael Shawky (Egypt), Lino Tagliapietra (Italy), Tim Tate (United States) , Koen Vanmechelen (Belgium), Robert Wilson (United States), Rose Wylie (Great Britain), Erwin Wurm (Austria).