ARTSFAIRFAX Announces New Board Members

By Editorial Team on September 9, 2019

ARTSFAIRFAX announces the election of four new members to its Board of Directors. The newly elected members are Catherine ‘Smitty’ Smith, Scott Cryer, Jennifer Owen, and d’Andre Willis.

ARTSFAIRFAX President & CEO, Linda S. Sullivan, announced, “I am pleased to welcome our four newest members to our Board of Directors.  They each have a unique background with diverse experiences that make them an asset to ARTSFAIRFAX and to the arts community that we serve.”

New Board Members:

Cathy ‘Smitty’ Smith is a Realtor® on the PJ Team at Long & Foster Tysons. She is a long-time supporter of music, performing, and visual arts in the community, and has sat on the Boards of Lorton Arts Foundation and the Providence Players. Smith was Marketing Director for the Fairfax Symphony Orchestra for five years and developed the organizing template for the 11th Congressional District’s participation in the Congressional Art Competition among high school students. She is a founding coordinator of Dialogues for Peace and Understanding.

Scott Cryer is a Cultural+Performing Arts Studio Leader and Senior Associate with DLR Group in Washington, D.C. where he heads a team of designers who create transformative spaces for communities across the country. Cryer’s work includes the American Revolution Museum at Yorktown; the 2018 AIA COTE Top Ten award-winning Renwick Gallery of the Smithsonian American Art Museum; and the renovation of John Eberson’s historic Tampa Theatre. He has also led higher education projects for Virginia Tech, Northwestern University, and Garrett College.

Jennifer Owen, CFP® is a Vice President and Senior Private Client Advisor with Sandy Spring Bank. She has a passion for the arts and art history, with an interest in the mass migration of artworks during WWII. Owen is a graduate of Georgetown University and the University of Virginia. She is a CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER™ professional who holds an M.A. in Art History and a B.S. in Finance and International Business. Owen is an active member of the Smithsonian Women’s Committee, a member of the Board of Trustees for the Imagination Stage and a member of the McIntire Ivy Society.

d’Andre Willis is a Principal and Vice President at HGA with more than 17 years collaborating with the HGA Milwaukee and Washington, DC offices. She is an expert in planning, programming, high performance, and management. Willis is actively involved in the Society for College and University Planning (SCUP), US Rowing, National Association of Schools of Music, U.S. Green Building Council, and International Living Future Institute where she shares trends in cultural, higher education, and athletics facilities. Willis and her team are working on the Capitol One Headquarters in Tysons Virginia.

New Officers Elected:

ARTSFAIRFAX elected new officers to serve for Fiscal Year 2020 – 2021:

  • Michele ‘Shelly’ Hazel, Chairman
  • Tim Sergeant; Manager, State & Local Affairs, Dominion Energy, Inc., Vice-Chairman
  • Pat Macintyre; CFO/Secretary & Treasurer, Macintyre Electronic Design Assoc,, Inc., Secretary
  • Jennifer Owen; Vice President, Sandy Spring Bank, Treasurer

Directors for Fiscal  Year 2020:

  • Hemanth Balasundaram; Managing Principal, Scimores Academy
  • Jose Banzon; Executive Vice President, White64
  • Suzanne H. Bissell; Principal, Bissell Philanthropy Services
  • Julia D. Carter; President and CEO, Carter Consulting Group LLC
  • Michael P. Coogan; Director, Corporate Responsibility, Leidos
  • Bill DuBose; Managing Director, District Financial Advisors
  • Eileen Filler-Corn; Member of House of Delegates, House of Delegates of Virginia
  • Michael Forehand; Vice President, Government and Community Affairs, Inova Health System
  • Leila Gordon; Executive Director, Reston Community Center
  • F. Russell Hines; President, Monument Realty LLC
  • Michael S. Liberman; Director, Department of Cable and Consumer Services, Fairfax County Government
  • Elizabeth Moffett; CPA, Partner, Burdette Smith & Bish, LLC

ARTSFAIFAX thanks the outgoing board members, Dr. Beth Cabrera, Senior Scholar, Center for the Advancement for the Well-Being at George Mason University; Doug Carter, Principal-in-Charge, DCS Design; Richard Goldberg; and Phoebe Peterson, Fine Artist, who have been great champions for the arts in Fairfax,” said Sullivan.


ARTSFAIRFAX is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit charitable organization, incorporated in 1964, as Fairfax County’s designated local arts agency.  ARTSFAIRFAX is funded in part by Fairfax County, corporations, foundations, individuals, the Virginia Commission for the Arts and the National Endowment for the Arts.