Bethesda Painting Awards Finalists Announced

By Editorial Team on May 14, 2019

Eight painters have been selected as finalists for the Bethesda Painting Awards, a juried competition and exhibition produced by the Bethesda Arts & Entertainment District. Nearly 300 artists from Maryland, Virginia and Washington, D.C. submitted work to the 15th annual competition created to exclusively honor regional painters. The work of the eight finalists will be on display at Gallery B from June 5-29, 2019.

The top prize winners will be announced and honored on Wednesday, June 5th at a private reception held at Gallery B, 7700 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite E. The Best in Show winner will be awarded $10,000, second place will be honored with $2,000 and third place will be awarded $1,000.

The artists selected as finalists are:

  • Mary Anne Arntzen, Baltimore, MD
  • Taha Heydari, Baltimore, MD
  • Lillian Bayley Hoover, Baltimore, MD
  • Gina Gwen Palacios, Baltimore, MD
  • Erin Raedeke, Montgomery Village, MD
  • W.C. Richardson, University Park, MD
  • Nicole Santiago, Williamsburg, VA
  • McKinley Wallace III, Baltimore, MD

A public opening will be held on Friday, June 14th from 6-8pm. Gallery B is located at 7700 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite E in downtown Bethesda. Gallery hours are Wednesday through Saturday from 12-6pm.

The competition’s jurors are Kyle Hackett, Professor of Studio Art, American University, and the 2014 Bethesda Painting Awards Winner; Sue Johnson, Professor of Art, St. Mary’s College of Maryland, and Susan Zurbrigg, Painting and Drawing Area Head, Professor of Art, James Madison University.

The Bethesda Painting Awards was established by local business owner Carol Trawick in 2005. Ms. Trawick has served as a community activist for more than 25 years in downtown Bethesda and established The Jim and Carol Trawick Foundation in 2007. She is the former Chair of the Maryland State Arts Council, Strathmore, Bethesda Arts & Entertainment District, Bethesda Urban Partnership, Inc. and founder of The Trawick Prize: Bethesda Contemporary Art Awards.

(via Bethesda Arts & Entertainment District. Photo of work by Nicole Santiago, courtesy of Bethesda Arts & Entertainment District.)