Hirshhorn Launches Museum Mobile Video Guide

By Editorial Team on July 2, 2018

Visitors can come face-to-face with today’s most exciting artists this summer with Hirshhorn Eye (Hi for short), a revolutionary in-gallery instant art guide that uses machine learning to deliver exclusive video to any smartphone.

Starting Saturday, June 30, Hi will connect museumgoers directly with the artists behind the art on view-including Olafur Eliasson, Jeff Koons, Damien Hirst, Lorna Simpson and many more – taking the viewer into their homes and studios to explore the ‘why’ and ‘how’ of contemporary art.

To get started, visitors can simply type hi.si.edu in their phone’s browser, no app download required. As they move through the galleries, Hi’s sophisticated image recognition will scan the works of art in front of them – from Mark Bradford’s Pickett’s Charge to Yayoi Kusama’s Pumpkin – and instantly unlock dozens of unique artist interviews and insights.

“The Hirshhorn is a voice for the most important art and artists of our time,” said Hirshhorn Director Melissa Chiu. “This new guide came out of a simple desire to connect art lovers with art makers, to bring you closer to these incredible artists, for free, using just your phone. It’s an intimate, inspiring creative experience designed for absolutely anyone who enters the museum.”

Hi is streamlined to bring visitors closer to the artists. Its web-based platform and image recognition capabilities go beyond the technology of other museums’ mobile guides with more than 150 pieces of unique content.

“We wanted to create a direct encounter with art, by allowing visitors to hear from the artists themselves,” Chiu said. “What could be better than seeing Annette Lemieux reenact her signature walking painting technique while seeing her footprints on the canvas, or peering over Ed Atkins’ shoulder at his computer just after you encounter his CGI installation?”

Exclusive artist interviews include:

  • Ed Atkins
  • José Bedia
  • Mark Bradford
  • Olafur Eliasson
  • Damien Hirst
  • Nancy Kienholz
  • Jeff Koons
  • Joseph Kosuth
  • Yayoi Kusama
  • Annette Lemieux
  • Tony Lewis
  • Reynier Leyva Novo
  • Glenn Ligon
  • Inge Mahn
  • Teresa Margolles
  • Charles Simonds
  • Lorna Simpson
  • Hiroshi Sugimoto
  • Siebren Versteeg
  • Didier Vermeiren
  • Huang Yong Ping

(via Hirshhorn Museum. Photo courtesy of Hirshhorn Museum.)