Mayor Muriel Bowser Announces Winners of Annual Mayor’s Arts Awards

By Editorial Team on October 18, 2016

Mayor Muriel Bowser and the DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities presented the 31st Annual Mayor’s Arts Awards at the Historic Lincoln Theatre. The annual awards celebrate and honor outstanding achievement in the arts, humanities and creative industries by individuals and organizations in the District of Columbia.

“I am honored to recognize the incredible contributions of these individuals and organizations to the arts community in the District,” said Mayor Bowser. “Their passion and creativity for the arts is contagious and will have a lasting impact on the District of Columbia. Congratulations to our winners and thank you for inspiring us all.”

“The District’s arts, humanities and creative professionals contribute in immeasurable ways to the economic development and overall quality of life in the District of Columbia,” said Arthur Espinoza, Jr., Executive Director of the DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities. “Year after year, we continue to see extraordinary work being produced by our city’s creative sector, and we are proud to be able to recognize the achievements of these individuals and organizations.”

The winners of the 31st Annual Mayor’s Arts Awards are:

  • One Common Unity – Excellence in the Humanities
  • Tara Campbell – Outstanding New Artist
  • Stone Soup Films – Excellence in the Creative Industries
  • Michael Janis – Excellence in the Arts
  • Dawn Johnson, KIPP DC – Excellence in Arts Teaching

In addition, the following individuals were recognized as special honorees:

  • E. Ethelbert Miller – Distinguished Honor
  • Julianne Brienza – Visionary Leadership
  • Lou Stovall – Lifetime Achievement

(via DCCAH.)