Semi-Finalists Announced for the NoMa Underpass Design Competition

By Editorial Team on June 18, 2014

The NoMa Parks Foundation announced the semi-finalists who have been invited to continue on to the next phase of the NoMa Underpass Design Competition. The competition’s jury is comprised of Elizabeth Broun, the Director of the Smithsonian American Art Museum; architect and columnist Roger Lewis; local artist Robin Rose; George Hemphill, local art curator/gallery owner and founding member of the District of Columbia Arts Center; and Charles “Sandy” Wilkes, Chair of the NoMa Parks Foundation, which is the sponsor of the competition.

The underpass competition seeks artists to install interactive installations in four underpasses at L, M, and K Streets, NE, and Florida Avenue, NE. The competition has generated overwhelming interest and excitement since its announcement in April. During the Request for Qualifications (RFQ) phase, the Foundation received 248 submissions from 14 countries, including a strong number of local entries. 49 semi-finalists were selected and will now receive the Request for Proposals; they will have four weeks to prepare their responses.

A full list of semi-finalists is provided as follows: ASC Design Group + Michael Enn Sirvet: Washington, DC;  Asif Khan Ltd.: London, UK; Ball-Nogues Studio: Los Angeles, CA;  Barbara Grygutis and Copley Wolff Design Group: Tucson, AZ; Bill FitzGibbons: San Antonio, TX; Citelum US: Washington, DC; CLINCH – Nora León, Ben Audrain, Eva Lynch, Boyd Chapman, Jennifer Chen: Washington, DC; COCOLAB: Hidalgo, Mexico; Corson Studios LLC: Seattle, WA; Craig Kraft: Washington, DC; Create In Situ- Sarah Zimmer & Kim Brickley: Philadelphia, PA; Derek Michael Besant: Calgary, Alberta, Canada; Dominic Panziera & Daniela Garofalo, ARTECLETTICA: Truckee, CA; Erin Curtis: Washington, DC; Future Cities Lab + Jim Campbell + Kreysler Associates: San Francisco, CA; Gunda Föerster: Berlin, Germany; Integrated Visions + John Ensor Parker: Brooklyn, NY; JBAK with Words Beats & Life: Berlin, Germany and Washington, DC;Joshua Sarantitis and MIT Media Lab’s Social Computing Group led by Professor Sep Kamvar: Brooklyn, NY and Cambridge, MA; Koryn Rolstad Studios: Seattle, WA; Krivanek+Breaux/ Art+Design, LLC: Chicago, Il; Lancaster Architects + Matthew Schreiber: Brooklyn, NY; landscape architects Schønherr A/S and artist Ruth Campau: Copenhagen, Denmark; LDVC, Cinimod Studio + TALL: London, UK; Leni Schwendinger and Arup team members sound artist Terance Caulkins; lighting designer Christoph Gisel; and civil engineers Tom Kennedy and Hemal Patel: New York, NY; LIKEarchitects: Porto, Portugal; Marshall Moya Design LLC: Washington, DC; Maxx Moses with Words Beats & Life: Washington, DC; Mckay Scheer Studio: Washington, DC; Mikyoung Kim Design LLC: Boston, MANarduli Studio + Horton Lees Brogden Lighting Design: Los Angeles, CA; NIO Architects and Thurlow Small Architects: Rotterdam, Netherlands and Pawtucket, Rhode Island;Omni-Zygo + Omnivore + Popular Architecture: New York, NY; Perfect Lighting Solutions: Washington, DC; Pernilla Ohrstedt Studios: London, UK; PhenomenArts, Inc.-Christopher Janney Artistic Director: Lexington, MA; Pixeluman Lab: Alexandria, VA; Random International: London, UK; Ray King (lead artist) and Duilio Passariello: Philadelphia, PA; Re:site (Norman Lee and Shane Allbritton) + Local Projects(Jake Barton): Houston, TX and New York, NY; Reform, LLC and Artist, Robert Kent Wilson: Washington, DC; Surface Design Inc. + Nighthouse Studio: San Francisco, CA and Boston, MA; Susan Kaprov: New York, NY; Synthesis Design + Architecture Inc.(Lead Designer and Architect) + Moritz Waldemeyer(Interactive Design Experience): Los Angeles, CA; The Yonder Creative Studio + Fresh Concept + Perceptual Engineering: Auckland, NZ; Tillett Lighting Design + Benjamin Gilmartin + Eric D. Groft: Brooklyn, NY; United Visual Artists(UVA): London, UK; Urban Matter Inc.: Brooklyn, NY; Widgery Studio: Cambridge, MA;

This summer, the jury will select the competition finalists. The finalists will receive an honoraria to further develop their proposals, which will be presented to the community, followed by final jury selections. Installation of the winning designs will begin in 2015.