Winners of the 26th Annual Mayor’s Arts Awards Announced

By Editorial Team on April 23, 2011

26th annual Mayor's Arts Awards Winners on East City ArtWINNERS OF THE 26TH ANNUAL MAYORʼS ARTS AWARDS ANNOUNCED


Individuals and Organizations Honored for Demonstrating Commitment to the Arts in our Community


Mayor Vincent C. Gray awarded seven individuals and organizations for their commitment to upholding artistic excellence in the city Wednesday night during a ceremony at theKennedy Center for the 26th Annual Mayorʼs Arts Awards. The program, hosted by performer MauriceHines, was attended by more than 600 individuals and featured performances by acts including theManzari Brothers, Post-Classical Ensemble, and ELEW, creator of “ROCKJAZZ.”

Excellence in Artistic Discipline (Tied)
Transformer, a non-profit gallery that promotes emerging artists, and The Shakespeare Theatre

Excellence in Service to the Arts
Capital Fringe, a performing arts festival and year round training factory,

Innovation in the Arts
Solas Nua , the only contemporary Irish arts organization in the United States

Outstanding Contribution to Arts Education
Dance Place

Outstanding Emerging Artist
Ellie Walton, a documentary filmmaker who is native to DC

Excellence in Teaching – Performing Arts
Thomas Pierre from Ludlow-Taylor Elementary School

Excellence in Teaching – Visual Arts
Nafeesah Shabazz from Thurgood Marshall Academy Public Charter School

“For over a quarter of a century, the Commission has had the esteemed privilege of presenting the Mayor’s Arts Awards to honor the District’s premier individual artists, arts organizations and patrons of the arts”, explained Ayris Scales, Interim Executive Director of DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities. “I am proud of the diversity of artistic excellence being awarded this year. This ceremony celebrates their accomplishments and the amazing impact that they have in the furthering of our City’s rich artistic and cultural heritage.”

The Mayor’s Arts Award is the highest honor conferred by the District of Columbia in recognition of artistic excellence and service among artists, arts organizations, and arts patrons in the city. The host, Dr. Anne Ashmore-Hudson, Chair of the DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities, presented a special Mayor’s Award for Visionary Leadership in the Arts to The Jones Haywood Dance Company.

Finalists were chosen by the Mayor’s Arts Awards Advisory Jury comprised of prominent members of the District’s arts community with expertise in dance, music, theatre, literary arts, visual arts and arts.

A recording of the 26th Annual Mayorʼs Arts Awards is available at:

For additional information on the Mayor’s Arts Awards or other D.C. Commission on the Arts and Humanities programs, please visit or call 202-724-5613.