Call For Entry: 18th annual Bethesda Painting Awards

By Editorial Team on January 10, 2022

Deadline: Mon, 28 February 2022

Deadline: Monday, February 28, 2022

The Bethesda Arts & Entertainment District invites local artists to submit work to the 18th annual Bethesda Painting Awards. This juried art competition awards $14,000 in prizes to four selected winners. The deadline for submissions is Monday February 28, 2022. Up to eight finalists will be chosen to display their work at Bethesda’s Gallery B in June 2022.

The competition will be juried by Maggie Michael, Painter and The Trawick Prize: Bethesda Contemporary Arts Awards, Best in Show winner in 2008; Tony Shore, Bethesda Painting Awards, Best in Show winner in 2006 and Maryland Institute College of Art, Painting Chair and Robert Yi, George Mason University, Assistant Professor and Interim Chair of Drawing and Painting.

The first-place winner will be awarded $10,000; second place will be honored with $2,000 and third place will be awarded $1,000.  A “young” artist whose birth date is after February 28, 1992 may also be awarded $1,000.

Artists can apply online or download an application at information on the Bethesda Painting Awards, visit or call 301-215-6660.

Artists must be 18 years of age or older and residents of Maryland, Virginia or Washington, D.C. All original 2-D painting including oil, acrylic, watercolor, gouache, encaustic and mixed media will be accepted. The maximum dimension should not exceed 60 inches in width or 84 inches in height. No reproductions. Artwork must have been completed within the last two years and must be available for the duration of the exhibition. Selected artists must deliver their artwork to the exhibit site in Bethesda, MD. Each artist must submit five images, an application and a non-refundable entry fee of $25.

The Bethesda Painting Awards was established by local business owner Carol Trawick in 2005. Ms. Trawick has served as a community activist for more than 25 years in downtown Bethesda and established The Jim and Carol Trawick Foundation in 2007. She is the former Chair of the Bethesda Arts & Entertainment District, past Chair of the Bethesda Urban Partnership, Inc. and founder of The Trawick Prize: Bethesda Contemporary Art Awards.

Best in Show winners include:

  • 2021, Megan Lewis, Baltimore, MD
  • 2020, Lawrence Cromwell, Baltimore, MD
  • 2019, Mary Anne Arntzen, Baltimore, MD
  • 2018 Carolyn Case, Cockeysville, MD
  • 2017 Katherine Tzu-Lan Mann, Washington, D.C.
  • 2016 Tanja Softic, Richmond, VA
  • 2015 Bill Schmidt, Baltimore, MD
  • 2014 Kyle Hackett, Baltimore, MD
  • 2013 Barry Nemett, Stevenson, MD
  • 2012 Ali Miller, Baltimore, MD
  • 2011 Alison Hall, Roanoke, VA
  • 2010 Nora Sturges, Baltimore, MD
  • 2009 Camilo Sanin, Jessup, MD
  • 2008 B.G. Muhn, North Potomac, MD
  • 2007 Matthew Klos, Baltimore, MD
  • 2006 Tony Shore, Baltimore, MD
  • 2005 Joe Kabriel, Annapolis, MD