28th Annual Mayor’s Arts Awards

By Editorial Team on October 17, 2013
30 Finalists of the 28th Annual Mayor’s Art Awards Announced
Event: Tuesday October 22 from 7pm to 9pm


Mayor Vincent C. Gray today joined the DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities (DCCAH) in announcing the 30 finalists of the 28th annual Mayor’s Arts Awards. The Awards are the highest honors conferred by the District of Columbia in recognition of artistic excellence and service.  This year’s finalists demonstrate the wide range of talent the District of Columbia arts community has to offer. Finalists were chosen by the Mayor’s Arts Awards Advisory Jury comprised of prominent members of the District’s arts community with expertise in dance, music, theatre, literary arts, visual arts, arts service and arts education.

Since 1968, the DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities has supported community development through the arts by promoting artistic excellence. The Commission’s commitment to raising the profile of its grantees continues through the Mayor’s Arts Awards by providing grants to the winner in each category. The awards will be presented in the following categories: Outstanding Contribution to Arts Education, Excellence in an Artistic Discipline, Outstanding Emerging Artist, Innovation in the Arts and Outstanding Service to the Arts. District residents and visitors to the city are invited to attend the free Mayor’s Arts Awards ceremony on Tuesday, Oct. 22. This year’s theme is a celebration of the District’s creative industries.

“The District of Columbia has become a national and international arts leader largely due to the drive and talents of our creative individuals and organizations,” said Mayor Gray. “The District’s arts, entertainment and creative industries are booming, contributing to our sustainability and helping to make the city a better place to live, visit, work and play. This year’s Mayor’s Arts Awards finalists showcase the best that the District has to offer.”

“The Mayor’s Arts Awards celebrates the District’s thriving and diverse arts community,” said Judith Terra, Chair of the DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities. “The nominees represent the artists, arts organizations and educators who have made the District a world-class cultural capital.”

“The Commission is proud to honor the District’s premier individual artists and arts organizations,” said Lionell Thomas, Executive Director of DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities. “This year’s nominees celebrate DC’s cultural capital and spotlight the significance of our city’s vibrant arts and entertainment community. The District’s creative industries – arts, film, theater – contribute to both our cultural heritage and our economy.”

See the preview video here:

The final nominees are:

Outstanding Contribution to Arts Education

  • Critical Exposure
  • 826DC
  • Marta Reid Stewart
  • The Corcoran Gallery of Art

Excellence in an Artistic Discipline

  • The Phillips Collection
  • Bruce McNeil
  • Washington Bach Consort
  • National Hand Dance Association
  • Pan American Symphony Orchestra

Outstanding Emerging Artist

  • Caitlin Teal Price
  • Brian Grundstrom
  • Tommy Taylor, Jr.
  • Luis Peralta

Innovation in the Arts

  • The Corcoran Gallery of Art
  • The Washington Ballet
  • Miriam’s Kitchen
  • Arena Stage

Outstanding Service to the Arts

  • Carla Perlo
  • Washington Project for the Arts
  • DC Arts and Humanities Ed. Coll.
  • DC Shorts
  • Sixth and I Historic Synagogue
  • BloomBars

Mayors Arts Award for Teaching

  • Topher Kandick
  • Amylia Barnett
  • Sarah Pace
  • Paige Byrne
  • Bryan Hill
  • Mandy McCulloch
  • Andrea Perll

To attend the event, download your free tickets by clicking here.