Conner Contemporary Art Presents Academy 2011

By Editorial Team on July 5, 2011
Academy 2011 on East City Art
LINGLING LU. One Hundred Melodies of Solitude Installation II – Lighthouse. 2010-11, acrylic on canvas, 138 x 138 inches. Photo Courtesy Conner Contemporary Art.

Academy 2011 on East City Art



Opening Reception: Saturday, July 9th: 6 to 8pm. Exhibition runs through August 22, 2011
(Panel discussion on the topic of collecting emerging art precedes the opening from 5 to 6pm)


Editor’s Note
Wade Carey conducted four interviews on the eve of Academy 2011 including one with Academy founder Jamie Smith and three interviews with participating artists.  The links to these interviews are listed as follows:

Conner Contemporary Art  presents ACADEMY 2011 the gallery’s 11th annual invitational survey of outstanding work by MFA and BFA students from the Washington-Baltimore area.

Exhibition founder and curator, Jamie Smith, Ph.D. invited the following artists to participate:

  • Sarah Allison
  • Forest Allread
  • Emily Biondo
  • Woojin Chang
  • Caroline Covington
  • Michael Dotson
  • Dan Gioia
  • Ginny Huo
  • Adam Junior
  • Libby Landauer
  • Linling Lu
  • Jon Malis
  • Jonathan Monaghan
  • Elle Perez
  • Melissa Prentki
  • Camilo Sanin
  • Samuel Scharf
  • Sierra Suris
  • Virginia Wagner

The above artists represent the following institutions:

  • American University
  • Corcoran College of Art and Design
  • George Washington University
  • Maryland Institute College of Art
  • University of Maryland

PULSE Presents Award – winner announced Saturday, July 9th during the opening.  PULSE Contemporary Art Fair will award one ACADEMY 2011 exhibiting artist an exhibition space at PULSE Miami 2011. The winner will be selected by PULSE Director Cornell DeWitt.

NOTE: Prior to the Academy 2011 exhibition join the gallery for an (e)merge art fair – panel discussion and party at 5pm.  Conner Contemporary Art and (e)merge art fair will host a panel discussion: Collecting and Emerging Art. Panelists include: Robert Shapiro, collector, Henry Thaggert, collector, Melissa Ichiuji, artist, Alberto Gaitan, artist, Victoria Reis, Director, Transformer Gallery. Moderated by Helen Allen, co-director (e)merge art fair.  The (e)merge panel discussion begins at 5pm; directly followed by (e)merge art fair party and Academy 2011 opening.  The (e)merge prize – winner announced Saturday, July 9th during the opening.  (e)merge art fair will award one artist exhibition space in the (e)merge art fair, September 22-25, 2011 at the Capitol Skyline Hotel, Washington, DC.  Jurors include: Dr. Fred Ognibene, Veronica Jackson and Philippa Hughes.


Conner Contemporary Art is located at 1358 Florida Avenue NE.