DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities Visual Arts Fellowship Applicant Exhibition

By Editorial Team on July 26, 2016

Fri, 29 July 2016 - Wed, 31 August 2016

Nautilus by Jessica Beels. Courtesy of DCCAH.
Nautilus by Jessica Beels. Courtesy of DCCAH.


Opening Reception: Friday, July 29 from 6pm to 8pm


Artists on display are all applicants to the FY17 Fellowship Grant program

The DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities (DCCAH) presents a Visual Arts Exhibition featuring some of the District’s finest visual artists applying for the 2017 Arts and Humanities Fellowship Program (AHFP17).

Through the AHFP, artists residing in the District may be awarded a grant of up to $10,000 in unrestricted support for the 2017 fiscal year. Each artist has submitted a piece that represents their body of work and artistic perspective. This exhibition captures the broad scope of the District’s dynamic art scene and provides an opportunity for the artists to express their visions directly to the panel of peer reviewers evaluating their applications and to the public.

“The District is home to many fine, talented artists,” said Arthur Espinoza, Jr., Executive Director of the DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities. “This exhibition of fellowship applicants’ works not only gives our grant panelists the opportunity to review the works up close and personal, but also showcases their artistry to the broader public.”

Featured Artists:

  • Alex Braden
  • Amanda Sauer
  • Amir Lowery
  • Amy Hughes Braden
  • Amy Lin
  • Andrew Wodzianski
  • Anna U Davis
  • Anne Bouie
  • Anne Marchand
  • Aziza Claudia Gibson-Hunter
  • Benisse Lester
  • Brendan L. Smith
  • Bruce McNeil
  • Carolina Mayorga
  • Carolyn Toye
  • Cary Michael
  • Champneys Taylor
  • Charles Bergen
  • Cory Oberndorfer
  • Dafna Steinberg
  • Dawn Whitmore
  • Deidra Bell
  • Dennis Mc Bride
  • Elaine S Wilson
  • Ellyn R Weiss
  • Gaston Lacombe
  • Gediyon Kifle
  • Gregory Ferrand
  • Helen Zughaib
  • Holly Bass
  • Ira Tattelman
  • Jared Davis
  • Jarvis Grant
  • Jeff Herrity
  • Jenny Walton
  • Jessica Beels
  • Jonathan French
  • Jonathan Monaghan
  • Julia Bloom
  • Kasse Andrews-Weller
  • Kathryn McDonnell
  • Kelly Towles
  • Khánh H. Lê in collaboration with Michael Horsley
  • Kyrae Cowan
  • Laila Abdul-Hadi Jadallah
  • Lazaro Batista
  • linn meyers
  • Lisa Marie Thalhammer
  • Manuel Morquecho
  • Marcel Taylor
  • Mark Kelner
  • Marta Pèrez-Garcìa
  • Mary Early
  • Matt Pinney
  • Matthew Mann
  • Michael Janis
  • Michal Hunter
  • Michele Banks
  • Michelle Lisa Herman
  • Monica Jahan Bose
  • Nancy Libson
  • nate lewis
  • Olga Akhramenko
  • Paige Billin-Frye
  • Pat Goslee
  • Patrick McDonough
  • Rajan sedalia
  • Rania Hassan
  • Rina Rodriguez
  • Roderick Turner
  • Rose Jaffe
  • Roxana Alger Geffen
  • Sally Canzoneri
  • Scot McKenzie
  • Shaunté Gates
  • Susana Raab
  • Tatiana Gulenkina
  • Tim Doud
  • Tim Tate
  • Timothy Makepeace

Gallery Hours:

  • Monday – Friday: 9am to 5pm

The exhibition will be on display in the gallery at 200 I (Eye) Street SE. For more information and to RSVP for the opening reception, visit www.dcarts.dc.gov or call 202-724-5613.