Finalists Announced for the 26th Annual Mayor’s Arts Award

By Editorial Team on April 11, 2011

26th annual Mayor's Arts Awards DC Kennedy Center on East City Art

Event: Wednesday April 20, 2011 starting at 6pm

John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts Concert Hall at 2700 F Street NW
Attendees are asked to RSVP by April 13 via email at

The DC Commission for the Arts and Humanities presents its finalists for the 26th annual Mayor’s Arts Awards.   The list of finalists is as follows:

The Mayor’s Award for Visionary Leadership in the Arts
The Jones Haywood Dance Company

Excellence in Artistic Discipline
DC Jazz Festival
The Shakespeare Theatre
Step Afrika! USA, inc.
Transformer, inc.

Excellence in Service to the Arts
Capital Fringe Inc.
Capitol Movement, Inc
Dance institute of Washington
Kim Roberts
Mary Hall Surface

Innovation in the Arts
Contemporary Music Forum/VERGE Ensemble
Dakshina/Daniel Phoenix Singh Company
The Double Nickels Theatre Company, Inc
Solas Nua
The Studio Theatre

Outstanding Contribution to Arts Education
Capitol Hill Arts Workshop (CHAW)
Critical Exposure
DC Whell Productions, inc (Dance Place)
Joy Zinoman
The Washington National Opera

Outstanding Emerging Artist
Mia Feuer
Brian Wilbur Grundstrom
Natsu Onoda Power
Ryan Richmond
Eleanor Walton
Andrew Wodzianski

Excellence in Teaching Performing Arts
Thomas Pierre (Ludlow-Taylor Elementary School)
Kamil Hazel (Friendship Collegiate Academy Public Charter School)

Excellence in Teaching Visual Arts
Nafeesah Shabazz (Thurgood Marshall Academy Public Charter School)
Elizabeth Wyrsch-Ba (J.0. Wilson Elementary School)